Dinosaur Land… Have You Been There Lately?

by Lyne des Roberts alias La Dame dragon

I know someone who has been away from work since May 2007… she is on full time training in the now most popular language school in town (the one with a brand new feature : each individual classroom equipped with a personal fridge! WOW!!! I am convinced having easy access to cold drinks – not included in the package though, trainees must bring their own – greatly helps learning French…)… Well… it does not seem to ease Belinda’s learning process… She had to take both written and reading tests a couple of times before she finally got her B. Yet she was not out of the woods because (I do not remember exactly how many times she tried) she keeps failing the oral test systematically!… she first took the old version, then she was on a pilot project and, finally, she went back and took the final new version. Last time was at the end of June… usually, civil servants who fail any of the tests have to move on with their training and they do not go back to work until they get their required levels… Therefore Belinda is still attending school, but she asked to be re-tested only at the end of August instead of the end of July hoping for better results next time.

Personally, I believe it will make no difference at all… even if they keep her on full time training for months! It is obvious this woman has reached her ceiling… she is no longer learning anything… the switch is off for good! Her only salvation is to get away from that toxic environment… take a few steps back and the time to breathe… then she could have a couple of weekly one-on-one lessons in her office… Right there, she would feel more confident: back on the job, surrounded by her colleagues, in a familiar environment (with or without a personal fridge!) and, most important, productive again!

I just do not get it! It pisses me off upsets me to see how those language schools work! They have one way and they will never adapt their teaching methods according to their trainees’ personal needs… of course, I do know why: they do not have a clue about how to accomodate learners’ specific needs… they are not specialized in the Adult Education field… and I bet they never heard about andragogy principles! It looks like trainees are merely livestock… they feed them for the slaughterhouse (the tests)! I am sure Belinda is relating to this right now… Fortunately, many civil servants adapt to that rigid obsolete teaching style and they manage to survive and get their levels (not without lots of sweat, frustration and more than one attempt)… but there are also many Belindas…

In the Spring of 2006, I contracted as an independent consultant with a language school (the most popular one at the time and, by far, the best in my book… although far from being perfect! if you know what I mean…) to train producers and reporters at the CBC. I had been approached based upon my corporate image and program… Kind of flattering in a way… I worked there for one full year until the CBC’s demands increased and I asked for more money (they were willing to pay the extra amount, but the school thought I had trespassed some forbidden territory! Never talk money with them… they will perceive you as an ungrateful monster! and tell me, why should I be grateful in the first place?)…

Over a period of seven months, I trained seven different small groups of producers and reporters working for The National… Then, I was asked to take over five groups (technicians, cameramen, editors, archivists and local news producers)… each group had 7 hours of weekly training (a full day with me). At first, they were reluctant… they had heard about my methods and high demands, and I knew I had no more than half of a minute to grab their interest… otherwise I was dead meat! They had been on training for ages… but they knew nothing! Their former teacher, a History teacher, would spend mornings giving them dictations (excerpts from Les Filles de Caleb) and afternoons compelling them to watch the TV series based upon the same novel… well, Les Filles de Caleb had been a popular series but, honestly, who cares about what happened in a Québec small village in the early 1900s? All it only ever achieved was operating like a powerful sedative on everyone! I quickly changed their daily diet: grammar basics, conversations in a controled environment for 6 hours… Then I traded Les Filles de Caleb for Rumeurs (a modern up beat urban series with people working in the publicity and communication field – much more appropriate for this audience!)… an episode of 30 minutes followed with a discussion on it.

It did not take me long to realize there were four people who could not follow their peers’ pace… I saw them crying and getting quite frustrated. I took action right away: I re-arranged all the groups and took those four individuals together… of course, it created a real commotion at the CBC… they never had anyone to reshuffle groups and modify the schedule… Unfortunately for them I never budged and they finally gave in after eight days… Useless to mention the ones who had experienced difficulties until that day (because of some learning differences) finally started to understand and make noticeable progress… After I left, one of them told me the school had put the groups back the way they were before I made modifications… and she said she was bursting into tears again! In a way, I felt bad for them… but hey! I cannot save them all, can I?

My point is… when a teacher (given this person is actually a “teacher”) sees that nothing works, it is time to show some creativity, consider other options and find solutions… and sooner, the best!!! Otherwise, many other Belindas will be added up to the list of failures…

“Comment se fait-il que, les petits enfants étant si intelligents, la plupart des hommes soient si bêtes? Ça doit tenir à l’éducation.”

Alexandre Dumas fils, écrivain français

2 Comments

  1. foreignlanguageteacher said,

    August 14, 2008 at 1:44 am

    Hmmm . . . seems as though the worlds of professional training and public high school education are not so different after all? Learners of EVERY age need REAL teachers with creativity and an understanding of learning differences. Bravo.

  2. August 14, 2008 at 12:16 pm

    Indeed it seems the traditional schooling system is failing the ones who learn differently… Lack of knowledge or mere laziness?

    In the world of professional training, it is even more obvious since most people are under’going one-on-one training… If their personal trainers were qualified and “creative”, they could easily adapt their teaching methods to their learners’ needs. I firmly believe it is due to a lack of knowledge on their part… but, in the meanwhile, they continue to fail their trainees…


Leave a Reply

